Code Header

About Me

Profilepicture

I'm Johannes from Hamburg. Well, originally I´m from south of Germany, a small town in Bavaria called Coburg. I've moved to Copenhagen for a couple of years, but went back to good old Germany in 2017.

I am 30 years old and work as a Data Scientist at a Media Agency. Originally I started out as a mechanical engineer, but got passionate about software development, artificial intelligence and technologies in general over the years. I have around 5 years of experience in Python development. During that time I have build many software applications and systems written in Python but also other languages like MATLAB or R. Nevertheless I'm constantly trying to learn new techniques and development methods.


I feel like I have only touched the tip of the iceberg and there is still much more to explore. One of my goals is to connect my engineering knowledge with my software development skills - I believe that combination will become very important anytime soon.

My biggest hobby (besides programming) is cycling - that's why I have dedicated a few blog post to cycling and analysing my cycling performance (also because the data is for free and available to me). I'm participating in Gran Fondos (cycling races that are open for everyone) and cyclocross races. Like that I can collect a lot of data during many training sessions, competitions and performance tests.

But I´m not only a geek, I also like to socialize from time to time; playing volleyball or traveling in a vw bus and meeting new people.

In this blog I would like to share some ideas and projects I'm currently working on. On my bucket list are practical projects like data scraping but also "rocket science" projects - for example programming a self-driving RC car.

I hope you enjoy my articles - feel free to drop me a few lines of feedback, ideas, or whatever comes to your mind...